top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrian

24 Hours of Quarantine - My first blog!

Updated: May 15, 2020

We’ve all been there, sitting at the edge of our beds wondering what the world will have in store for tomorrow. Only we know the answer. However, we still find some satisfaction planning out in our head all the amazing things that could happen if we do something at an exact moment. Trust me, I once thought about how if I sneezed whenever there was a lull, that people would somehow recognize me even though I’ve never done anything to win that type of attention – not kidding. But, it worked; I’m now the face of multiple brands – kidding. I’m still just sitting at the edge of my bed wondering what will be in store for me tomorrow. I think on some level I’ve always liked the idea of guessing what the 2nd Tuesday in October will bring (as told by my sneezing story), but I think I’m more interested in letting my life run its course.

So far, I think I’ve done pretty well with the time I’ve had on this planet. I’ve capitalized on moments that needed capitalizing, and I’ve let things fade away that needed to fade. Although, the one thing that always seems to keep me in place is time. I can work for hours and hours, slave over every little detail that I do throughout the day, and only 24 hours has passed. Some days I feel like I accomplish nothing, that I wasted 24 hours of my life (24 out of 210,000 is minuscule, but still, it’s something). Some days I feel like I’ve spent 3 days in the matter of 12 hours. Time always depends on how you use it.

First things first, if you have been affected poorly by this pandemic, I sincerely apologize. It’s not an easy time and it’s hard on both the physical and emotional sates.

During this unprecedented time, people have absolutely no idea what to do with the 24 hours they have for the day. Some are doing the exact same things they’ve always done: wake up, go to work (from home), workout (from home), watch TV, go to bed, and repeat. Some, like me, have absolutely no idea what to do. Our daily routines have been flipped upside down and torn apart like a person flipping an omelet for the first time. It’s a mess! But, I think I can sufficiently say that one way or the other, we all are somehow negatively affected.


Relationships are being put to the test. Couples are splitting due to too much time together, or lack thereof.


Careers are being put on hold. The kid on track to become the youngest CEO in their company’s history is now laid off.


Parents are going bonkers. Their kids are home from school eating way too much sugar, and the zoom meetings they’re having don’t seem to do a damn thing.


Payments aren’t coming in. People struggling to afford payments in the past are now so deep in the red due to “delayed” unemployment services.


It’s all a mess, and it’s all happening within 24 hours. The big problem is we don’t know how many of these 24 hours we’re going to have. We hear this entire media talking about when it’s going end. Some is scary and some is enlightening. But it’s never the same. One day your local news station will tell you “Expect a full restoration by the end of June!” The next day they’ll tell you that things won’t be normal again until 2021. That’s a long 5,712 hours. (Depending on what day you’re reading this). But don’t fret, this all will end [one day] and we can go back to our normal 24 hour lives.


It’s a whole new world out there and it’s up to you to take advantage. The possibilities are endless, even though it may not seem like it, and you need to strike now. Invest in yourself. I don’t want to sound cliché, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel. If you put all your effort into yourself and decide how you’re going to be better, how you’re going to spend tomorrow’s 24 hours, or how you’re going to approach your life when this pandemic is over, you will be rewarded. No necessarily monetarily, but emotionally (which may even be more important right now). If you can plan out your days in advance and set aside time to work for yourself, you will come out of this pandemic stronger than you were before it started. All it takes is that first 24 hours to decide what you’re going to do differently.



I can attest to this. I had no idea what to do for a while but then I realized I wanted a hobby, so I took up blogging. I’ve always had an interest for creative writing, and who knows, maybe I’m not even good at it. Maybe no one will even read this, or my next blog, or the one after that. But I’m investing in myself. I believe that I will get better and I will be rewarded. It doesn’t cost any money. All it takes is some time.

I’m not perfect, and no one is (except maybe The Rock. That guy is insane) but it’s up to you to help yourself. You have to be the voice of reason for changing yourself. It’s not a difficult process; all it takes is 24 hours. So tick tock.

69 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page